Social network trials ‘take a break’ tools, offering a quick option to hide posts and pictures from a former partner after a user changes their relationship statusIt is a truth universally acknowledged that a newly single person, in possession of a broken heart, must be in want of social media updates about their recent ex.
A post on Facebook’s newsroom blog explains that a former partner’s posts will be hidden in News Feed and their name not automatically suggested for tagging in photos or messages.
On the flip side, users worried about still attached exes will also be able to limit the information an ex sees about them – including photos, videos and status updates.
The new tools, packaged as “take a break”, are being trialled on mobile in the US, with a potential wider rollout based on feedback. The tools can be accessed via the help centre, and presumably are reversible (though the blog post does not elaborate).
Facebook already offers tools to limit what other individuals can view (including tailoring viewing permissions for individual posts and photographs) but it seems the new measures aim to be more discreet.
Facebook product manager, Kelly Winters, writes that the trial tools are “part of our ongoing effort to develop resources for people who may be going through difficult moments in their lives.
“We hope these tools will help people end relationships on Facebook with greater ease, comfort and sense of control.”